Recently I’ve been questioning my taste in music. Is it right that I listen to so much house music? Is it weird? Am I a one dimensional person?

At the beginning of the week I was having a discussion about music with my boss. He approaches me and asks this question:

‘So Nolo, what kind of music are you into?’

Now, this is a pretty straight forward question. It requires no strain of thought and should be answered with relative ease. The problem is every time I divulge my taste in music people seem to get offended, as if I have just offended their grandmother by accusing her of not adding enough spice when preparing some chicken. Cause you know chicken needs spice.

‘Oh so you’re one of those guys’

What guys? Who are these guys and where can I find them?

It is becoming a bit of a pain.

Why is there this hidden connotation when it comes to house fans. Have we brought this upon ourselves? Are we an annoyance to society?

I think the problem is society itself. Ask anybody who has gone to a house rave whether they have ever seen a fight break out? Never! It’s all about PEACE and LOVE and yet you can try and convince people as much as you want to come to a rave with you, and the answer is always the same.

‘That’s just not my scene’

What is this scene?

I’m tired of it! From now on in I will be screaming and yelling.

‘I love house music!!’

And on that note

deal with it